Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content



    MISTRA Board of Governors holds first meeting

    Venue: Cedar Park, Woodmead

     August 04 2010

    The meeting was opened by the Chairperson of the Interim Board, Sibusiso Vil-Nkomo, who warmly welcomed the members and briefed them on the background to the formal establishment of the Board and the legal requirements for the meeting.
    Professor Vil-Nkomo was unanimously elected as Chairperson of the Board of Governors and the meeting confirmed the provision in the Articles of Association that the Executive Director, Joel Netshitenzhe, would be vice-Chairperson of the Institute.
    The meeting received a comprehensive Progress Report from the Executive Director spanning the last six months, outlining how far the Interim Board and management had gone in establishing the Institute. He highlighted the priority research projects that are being developed as the focus of the research programme of the Institute. The Board responded with a number of important inputs both into the research agenda and corporate plans of the Institute.
    The Director Operations, Barry Gilder, presented the Articles of Association of the Institute that had been adopted by the Interim Board. The Board noted a few areas in which the Articles would need to be revised in future, but unanimously endorsed the adoption of the Articles by the Interim Board.
    The Board considered the terms of reference and composition of the Council of Advisors. It approved the terms of reference and resolved that Professor Njabulo Ndebele, Antjie Krog and Ambassador Abdul Minty be appointed as further members of the Council.
    The Board further considered the mandate and composition of the Board of Governors and endorsed these as adopted by the Interim Board.
    The Board approved the establishment of an Executive Committee of the Board to be known as the ‘Strategy Committee’. It also approved the establishment of an Audit Committee as well as a Remuneration and Nominations Committee.
    The Board appointed Trish Hanekom, Jean-Marie Jullienne, Brigitte Mabandla, Oyama Mabandla, Fébé Potgieter-Gqubule, Robinson Ramaite, Tshilidzi Ratshitanga, Peter Vundla and Sandile Zungu to the Strategy Committee in addition to the statutory members (the Chairperson, the Executive Director and the Director Operations). It mandated the Strategy Committee to make recommendations to it on the composition of the Audit Committee and Remuneration and Nominations Committee.
    The Board endorsed the appointment of the auditors of the Institute and confirmed the appointment of Ilva Mackay as Company Secretary. It also approved delegation of powers to the Executive Director, the Business Plan of the Institute and the budget.

    Related Photos

    in this event?

    Leave us your details and we’ll keep you posted on what’s happening with the event.